CALL 911 OR YOUR LOCAL HEALTH CARE PROVIDER IMMEDIATELY IF YOU SUSPECT SHELLFISH POISONING.

Shellfish and Phytoplankton Testing Facilities

The following facilities offer phytoplankton identification and testing for shellfish and phytoplankton toxicity.  Please contact the lab directly to make arrangements.  Information on each lab is available by clicking the organization name.

HAB Testing and Research Laboratories

Scroll from left to right to learn more about HAB Testing and Research Laboratories.

LabContact NamePhoneEmail
AK Dept of Environmental Conservation (DEC)Patryce McKinney(907) 375-8206patryce.mckinney@alaska.gov
Southeast Alaska Tribal Ocean Research (SEATOR)Chris Whitehead, Kari Lanphier, Naomi Bargman and Meredith Redick(907) 966-9650seator@sitkatribe-nsn.gov
Kachemak Bay Research Reserve (KBNERR)Rosie Robinson and Alice Rademacher(907) 235-4797rmrobinson3@alaska.edu
ajrademacher@alaska.edu
NOAA-Wildlife Algal-toxin Research and Response Network for the US West Coast (WARRN-West)Kathi LeFebvre(206) 302-2454kathi.lefebvre@noaa.gov
NOAA NCCOS/Beaufort LabSteve Kibler(252) 728-8737steve.kibler@noaa.gov
USGS Alaska Science CenterMatt Smith, Sarah Schoen and Caroline Van Hemert(907) 786-7184, (907) 786-7467, (907) 786-7167mmsmith@usgs.gov
sschoen@ugsg.gov
cvanhemert@usgs.gov
SUNY- ESFGreg Boyer and Dave Kiemle(315) 470-6825glboyer@esf.edu
dkiemle@esf.edu
Analytical Response Team of the NCCOS HAB Monitoring & Reference Branch (Charleston, SC)Tod Leighfield and John Ramsdell(843)-460-9693, (843)-460-9700tod.leighfield@noaa.gov
john.ramsdell@noaa.gov
NOAA NCCOS/Kasitsna Bay Lab
UAF page
Kris Holderied and Dominic Hondolero(907) 590-2149Kris.Holderied@noaa.gov
Dominic.Hondolero@noaa.gov
NWFSC Marine Biotoxins ProgramVera Trainer(206) 860-6788vera.l.trainer@noaa.gov

HAB Testing by Lab

Scroll from left to right to learn more about HAB Testing by Lab.

Toxin and TestDECSEATORKBNERRWARRN-WestNCCOSUSGSSUNY-BoyerAvailable for Contract
Saxitoxin/
Alexandrium
Mouse bioassayXDEC ($125/sample)
RBAXXSEATOR ($50/sample)
ELISAXXXXXSEATOR ($50/sample)
HPLCXXXDEC ($125/sample)
QPCRX
MicroscopyXXXSEATOR ($25/qualitative sample)
Field Test KitsX
Domoic Acid/
Pseudo-nitzschia
Mouse bioassay
RBA
ELISAXXXXSEATOR ($50/sample)
HPLCXX
LC-MSXDEC ($100/sample)
QPCR
MicroscopyXXSEATOR ($25/qualitative sample)
Field Test KitsX
Microcystin/
Aphanizomenon
Mouse bioassay
RBAX
ELISAXX
LC-MSXX
QPCR
MicroscopyX
Field Test Kits

Key:
RBA = Receptor binding assay
ELISA = Enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay
HPLC = High Performance Liquid Chromatography
LC-MS = Liquid chromatography–mass spectrometry
QPCR = Quantitative Polymerase Chain Reaction
Current HAB Alert: High densities of Alexandrium cells were observed by the HAB cruise in the Bering Strait region at the beginning of September. A strong storm in Western Alaska washed up clams along the coast and harvesters are encouraged to stay alert and contact their local health care providers if they experience any of the signs of PSP after consuming shellfish.Learn more »
+ +