CALL 911 OR YOUR LOCAL HEALTH CARE PROVIDER IMMEDIATELY IF YOU SUSPECT SHELLFISH POISONING.

Expertise Database

Scroll from left to right to learn more about each of the AHAB Experts.

NameTitle/Organization/ContactHABS SpecialtyField by Training
Naomi Bargmann


Biologist, United States Geological Survey, Alaska Science Center


nbargmann@usgs.gov


Laboratory methods for toxin analysis, public communicationBiology, wildlife biology
Louisa Castrodale

Epidemiologist, AK Dept of Health and Social Services, Anchorage


louisa.castrodale@alaska.gov

Surveillance for human illness from shellfish toxinsEpidemiology, veterinary science
Darcy Dugan

Alaska OA Network Director, Alaska Ocean Observing System, Anchorage


dugan@aoos.org

Facilitating interaction between researchers and stakeholders, HABS websiteEnvironmental science & policy
Ginny Eckert

Associate Director for Research, Alaska Sea Grant, Juneau


gleckert@alaska.edu

Shellfish biology; nearshore plankton dynamics; community engagement; marine ecologyFisheries ecology and oceanography, marine biology and marine invertebrates
Melissa Good

Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program Agent, Unalaska


melissa.good@alaska.edu

Conducting local monitoring, developing community based monitoring, extension and outreachFisheries management, marine biology, outreach
Kris Holderied

Director, NOAA Kasitsna Bay Lab, Seldovia, AK


nbargmann@usgs.gov

HAB monitoring, research and response, how changing ocean conditions affect Alaska coastal resources and communitiesOceanography
Dominic Hondolero

Oceanographer, NOAA Kasitsna Bay Lab, Seldovia, AK


Dominic.Hondolero@noaa.gov

HAB monitoring and researchBiology
Steve Kibler

Oceanographer, NOAA National Ocean Service, Beaufort, NC


steve.kibler@noaa.gov

Most aspects of HABs, including ecology, physiology, toxicity, detection and monitoring methods.Biological oceanography
Kari Lanphier

HABS and ocean acidification project coordinator, Sitka Tribe of Alaska-SEATOR


kari.lanphier@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

Laboratory methods for the analysis of marine biotoxins related to HABsGeology
Kathi Lefebvre

Research biologist, NOAA Northwest Fisheries Science Center


kathi.lefebvre@noaa.gov

Marine seafood toxins on wildlife and human healthBiology and marine science
Rosie Masui

Harmful Species Technician, Kachemak Bay Research Reserve, Homer


rmrobinson3@alaska.edu

HAB community monitoring program in Southcentral; collection and analysis of phytoplankton and shellfish samples; response to HAB events.Biology
Julie Matweyou

Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program Agent, Assistant Professor College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, Kodiak, AK


julie.matweyou@alaska.edu

Paralytic shellfish poisoning, toxin monitoring, research, and education,
community monitoring toward safe shellfish harvest
Biological Oceanography, research emphasis on PSP
Sarah Schoen

Wildlife Biologist, Alaska Science Center, USGS


sschoen@usgs.gov

Investigating biotoxins in seabirds and forage fishEcology and Zoology
Gay Sheffield

Marine Advisory Fellow, Alaska Sea Grant, Nome


ggsheffield@alaska.edu

Bering Strait observations, sampling, and response; domoic acid/saxotoxin; marine mammalsMarine mammal biologist, natural resource management
Raphaela Stimmelmayr

North Slope Borough Department of Wildlife Management, Barrow


Raphaela.Stimmelmayr@north-slope.org

Domoic Acid, Saxotoxin, Microcystin, Nodularin ; marine mammalsVeterinarian, natural resource management; wildlife biology
Dean Stockwell

Research professor, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks


dastockwell@alaska.edu

Red tides, brown tides, taxonomyPhytoplankton taxonomy, ecology
Chris Whitehead

Environmental Program manager and director, Sitka Tribe of Alaska and Southeast Alaska Tribal Ocean Research (SEATOR)


chris.whitehead@sitkatribe-nsn.gov

Collaborating and building partnerships for monitoring harmful algal blooms and shellfish toxicity with Tribal governments, state and federal agencies, universities, and non-profit stakeholders.Biology
Alex Whiting

Environmental Program Director, Native Village of Kotzebue


alex.whiting@qira.org

Kotzebue Sound observationsFisheries, Ecology
Current HAB Alert: High densities of Alexandrium cells were observed by the HAB cruise in the Bering Strait region at the beginning of September. A strong storm in Western Alaska washed up clams along the coast and harvesters are encouraged to stay alert and contact their local health care providers if they experience any of the signs of PSP after consuming shellfish.Learn more »
+ +